On Jan. 11, the IRS announced the appointment of seven new members to the Internal Revenue Service Advisory Council (“IRSAC”).

Established in 1953, the IRSAC examines various issues in tax administration; provides the IRS commissioner with relevant feedback, observations, and recommendations; and publishes an annual report to the agency at a public meeting in November.

The following individuals were appointed to serve three-year terms on the council beginning in 2018:

  1. Ben Deneka is an industry operations liaison with H&R Block in Pittsburgh, PA.
  2. Diana Erbsen is a tax partner at DLA Piper in New York, NY.
  3. Antonio Gonzalez is a certified public accountant and is founder and co-owner of Sydel Corporation in Coral Gables, FL., which is both an accounting and information technology consulting firm for multiple organizations.
  4. Charles Read is a certified public accountant and the founder and CEO of Custom Payroll Associates Inc. in Lewisville, TX, where he has been preparing business and individual tax returns since 1991.
  5. Martin Rule is a certified public accountant and senior manager with Deloitte Tax LLP in Chicago.
  6. Jeffrey Schneider is an enrolled agent and a vice president with SFS Tax & Accounting Services in Port St. Lucie, FL.
  7. Patricia Thompson is a certified public accountant and tax partner with Piccerelli, Gilstein & Company, LLP in Providence, RI.