House Ways and Means Chairman Kevin Brady (R-TX) has announced the following new subcommittee assignments:

  • Rep. Vern Buchanan (R-FL) will be taking over the Ways and Means Tax Policy Subcommittee, a position that was previously held by Rep. Peter Roskam (R-IL).
  • Rep. Roskam will now be taking over the Health Subcommittee, due to the impending retirement of Rep. Pat Tiberi (R-OH).
  • Rep. Lynn Jenkins (R-KS) will be the new chairwoman of the Oversight Subcommittee, a position that previously belonged to Rep. Buchanan.

The House Ways and Means Committee also welcomed Rep. Darin LaHood (R-IL), who is replacing Rep. Pat Tiberi (R-OH). Tiberi is leaving Congress on Jan. 15 to serve as the head of the Ohio Business Roundtable.

Here is a full list of the new GOP subcommittee assignments at Ways and Means:

Health Human Resources Oversight Social Security Tax Policy Trade
Chairman Peter Roskam (IL) Chairman Adrian Smith (NE) Chairman Lynn Jenkins (KS) Chairman Sam Johnson (TX) Chairman Vern Buchanan (FL) Chairman Dave Reichert (WA)
Sam Johnson (TX) Jackie Walorski (IN) David Schweikert (AZ) Vern Buchanan (FL) Peter Roskam (IL) Devin Nunes (CA)
Devin Nunes (CA) Carlos Curbelo (FL) Jackie Walorski (IN) Mike Kelly (PA) Dave Reichert (WA) Erik Paulsen (MN)
Vern Buchanan (FL) Mike Bishop (MI) Carlos Curbelo (FL) George Holding (NC) Jim Renacci (OH) Mike Kelly (PA)
Adrian Smith (NE) David Schweikert (AZ) Mike Bishop (MI) Jason Smith (MO) Kristi Noem (SD) Pat Meehan (PA)
Lynn Jenkins (KS) Darin LaHood (IL) Darin LaHood (IL) Tom Rice (SC) George Holding (NC) Tom Reed (NY)
Kenny Marchant (TX) Dave Reichert (WA) Tom Reed (NY) David Schweikert (AZ) Pat Meehan (PA) Kristi Noem (SD)
Diane Black (TN) Jason Smith (MO) George Holding (NC)
Erik Paulsen (MN) Tom Rice (SC) Tom Rice (SC)
Tom Reed (NY) Kenny Marchant (TX)
Mike Kelly (PA)

On the other side of the Capitol, the Senate Finance Committee Democrats are adding Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI) to the committee roster, narrowing the GOP majority on the tax-writing panel to 14-13. Whitehouse is also a member of the following Senate committees: Budget, Judiciary, and EPW.